# HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR WORK MEETING JANUARY 13, 2020

The Board of Directors of the Hopewell Area School District met in regular session on Monday, January 13, 2020, in the Junior High School Cafeteria, 2354 Brodhead Road, Hopewell Township.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Lesia Dobo, Board President.

Mrs. Dobo led prayer. Flag salute was presented by Kelly Kypta and Andrew Fisher, Drum Majors of the Viking Pride Marching Band. Roll call by the secretary followed. Those Directors in attendance were:

Daniel Caton
Lesia Dobo
Matthew Erickson
Megan Harries
Darren Newberry (via FaceTime)
Kathryn Oblak
Daniel Santia
Jeffrey Winkle

Members absent: Lori McKittrick

Also in attendance were: Dr. Michelle Miller, Superintendent; John Salopek, Solicitor; Jennifer Conrad, Business Administrator; Nancy Barber, Secretary; Michael Allison, Kylee Babish, Korri Kane, and Edward Katkich, Principals; and visitors.

Dr. Miller, Mr. Katkich and Ms. Babish presented a proposal for 4<sup>th</sup> Grade transition to upper elementary located at the Junior High School for the 2020-2021 school year. A 30-minute question and answer period was followed by a tour of the proposed 4<sup>th</sup> grade space at the Junior High School.

Steven Niedenberger from Hosack, Specht, Muetzel & Wood, LLP, Certified Public Accountants presented the Audit Report of the Hopewell Area School District for the year ended June 30, 2019.

## Education/Curriculum/Instruction: Mr. Winkle, Chair

## MOTION #1

By Jeff Winkle, seconded by Dan Santia, to approve free school privileges for Wongsakorn Kamlangingam to attend Hopewell High School for the 2019-2020 school year. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

## **Budget and Finance: Mrs. Harries, Co-Chair**

#### MOTION #2

By Megan Harries, seconded by Jeff Winkle, to accept the Audit Report of the Hopewell Area School District for the year ended June 30, 2019 issued by Hosack, Specht, Muetzel & Wood, LLP, Certified Public Accountants. MOTION carried by a unanimous roll call vote of all Directors in attendance.

## Personnel: Mr. Erickson, Chair

#### MOTION #3

By Matthew Erickson, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, approved the request of Jeff Buzard for a medical leave of absence from December 11, 2019 through January 28, 2020. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

#### MOTION #4

By Matthew Erickson, seconded by Dan Caton, approved the employment of Benjamin J. Dicola, Transportation Mechanic, effective on or about January 28, 2020. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

#### MOTION #5

By Matthew Erickson, seconded by Jeff Winkle, approved the employment of Gail Brown, permanent bus driver, effective December 16, 2019. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

#### MOTION #6

By Matthew Erickson, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, approved the employment of Steven Leeper, substitute transportation aide, effective December 17, 2019. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

#### MOTION #6

By Matthew Erickson, seconded by Dan Santia, approved the employment of Melissa Mineard, permanent bus driver, effective December 20, 2019. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

#### MOTION #7

By Matthew Erickson, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, accepted the resignation for retirement for Ronald Bridgman, substitute bus driver, effective January 10, 2020. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

### Transportation: Mr. Caton, Chair

#### MOTION #8

By Dan Caton, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, approved the participation in the Allegheny Intermediate Unit's joint purchasing program for the purchase of gasoline and diesel fuel for the 2020-2021 school year. MOTION carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

Dr. Miller reviewed those items that would be voted on at the January 27, 2020 Board meeting.

### **Education/Curriculum/Instruction**

- 1. Senior High School Course Curriculum Guide for the 2020-2021 school year.
- 2. 2019-2020 Tuition Agreement with the School District of Pittsburgh to educate a student residing at Pediatric Specialty Care.
- 3. 2021 Kennywood School Picnic on Wednesday, June 16, 2021.

## Finance and Budget:

Recommendation to approve the following:

1. Informational: Questeq Agreement Renewal

#### **Personnel**:

1. Resignation for retirement of Robert McDonald, custodian, effective February 1, 2020.

## **Policy**:

- 1. Review and Renewal Board Policy 011, Board Governance Standards/Code of conduct.
- 2. Informational: Online Board Policy Manual Access.

### **Visitors**

Dan Boni asked if this was the first year the District participated in the AIU Gasoline/Diesel Fuel Consortium. Mrs. Conrad explained that the District has participated for many years. Mr. Boni said that this was an excellent opportunity.

David Bufalini stated that he agreed with consolidating the schools. He, however has a few questions regarding the plan moving forward.

- 1. Does the Board know what the Kane Road property is worth?
- 2. What happens to the baseball fields located behind Hopewell Elementary School?
- 3. Have they asked the township Supervisors if they know of any new developments?
- 4. Would the Senior High School be able to accommodate the 8<sup>th</sup> grade students?
- 5. What is the cost to tear down Hopewell Elementary School?
- 6. What is the environmental impact?
- 7. Until decisions are made, don't put money into Hopewell Elementary School

## **Executive Session**

An Executive Session was held following the meeting to discuss personnel. This announcement is being made to be in compliance with Act 84 of 1986, Pennsylvania's Sunshine Law, as amended.

# **Adjournment**

There being no further discussion or recommendations to come before the Board of Directors, Mrs. Dobo asked for a motion for adjournment.

MOTION by Dan Santia, seconded by Megan Harries that the meeting be adjourned. MOTION CARRIED.

Mrs. Dobo adjourned the meeting at 8:52 p.m.

HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD

Lesia Dobo, President

Nancy Barber, Secretary